Here you will be able to manage the list of environments used by your organization. These represent your real world deployment or release environments.
Maintaining this list, along with the
record-release commands, allows Pactflow to ensure you are safe to deploy using the
can-i-deploy tool. You can read more about the process here.
|Name||A unique name, no spaces allowed. This name is used in the can-i-deploy and record-deployment CLI commands. eg. "payments-sit-1". This field cannot be edited|
|DisplayName||A more verbose name for the environment. "Payments Team SIT 1".|
|Production||Whether or not this environment is a production environment.|
|Teams||Associates the environment with teams, used to determine which teams are able to view and edit the environment after it is created. See permissions section below for details.|
Recording deployments and releases
To successfully record a deployment or release to an environment, the user must be allowed to record a deployment/release for the application, AND be allowed to view the environment resource.
In terms of the permissions and resource relationships, that means:
- The user must have
environment:manage:team) AND the environment, application and user must be assigned to the same team.
- The user must have
Creating Production Environments
If all the services in the Broker are deployed to the same "public" internet, then there only needs to be one Production environment. If there are multiple segregated production environments (eg. when maintaining on-premises software for multiple customers) then you should create a separate production Environment for each logical deployment environment.
Environments can be associated with Teams via creating or editing an Environment, or in the Team settings when creating or editing a Team. The permissions that determine when a user can associate an environment with a team are as follows:
Users with this permission can view, edit and delete all environments. When creating or editing an environment the user can add or remove any team, regardless of their 'teams' permissions.
When creating or editing any team the user can change the environments associated with the team.
When creating or editing a team they have permission for, the user can change the environments associated with that team.
The user can view a list of all environments, but not edit or delete environments.
The user can view a list of all the environments associated with their teams, but cannot edit or delete environments.